Jesus’ Actions as Basis of Sacraments

As the Church grew and developed, Christians began to summarize Jesus’ actions into seven primary ways in which he himself was a sacrament of God:

–          He introduced people to new life.

–          He forgave people’s sins.

–          He sacrificed himself out of love.

–          He shared the power of his Spirit with others.

–          He healed people’s illnesses.

–          He was faithful to the one he called “Abba”

–          He ministered to people’s spiritual needs.

Eventually, these seven types of Christ-like actions were ritualized into what are now the official sacraments of the Catholic Church. Through the seven Sacraments, the Catholic church sees itself as continually expressing and bringing about the presence of Jesus in the world in a special and powerful way.