Case Analyses: Spirituality and Religion

Instructions: Assign a LEADER, TIME KEEPER, SCRIBE, and REPORTER. Work on this for 10 minutes. 1 post per group.

Case 1: Hi, I’m Christian and I’m a Christian. Being a Christian is really simple: you need to pray and keep the commandments. That’s it! For as long as you constantly talk to God, talk about your day with Him and try to keep your life as holy as you can by avoiding what the commandments want us to avoid, we’re pretty much on our way to God! So be a Christian: Pray and Obey!

Guide Question: What does this case imply about Christian Spirituality? What are possible problems posed by this case?

Case 2: Do you really think God is concerned about our petty little problems? I don’t think so. There are bigger problems out there than our own. I think God is busier trying to help people like me, a Social worker, bring justice to those who are looked down upon. I really support the church and its social teachings about alleviating the chronic poverty many people experience but I just feel that we’ll get more than if we spent our Sundays helping the poor instead of holding masses.

Guide Question: What does this case imply about Christian Spirituality? What are possible problems posed by this case?

Case 3: Read Luke 15: 25 – 32. The focus will be on the Older brother who was clearly bitter at the Father’s decision and how the father show cased love.

Guide Question: What does this the parable imply about Christian Spirituality? What are possible problems posed by this parable?

Case 4: Hello, I’m Mama Pia. I’m a single mother of 2 boys who both study in private schools. As a mom, I want to give them the best that life has to offer. As a result, not only do I work for them, I pray hard with them as well. I make sure they remember the commandments and to pray the rosary. As a family activity, we often visit those people in the home for the aged. There we get to bond and help out at the same time! Although I try to make it to mass during Sundays but that has simply not been part of my priorities.  Maybe someday I’ll attend it regularly but not anytime soon.

Guide Question: What does this case imply about Christian Spirituality? What are possible problems posed by this case?
FORMAT:
Surname, First Name
Surname, First Name
Surname, First Name
Surname, First Name

Case 1:
Case 2:
Case 3:
Case 4:

Leave a Reply

